The North Indian (PUNJABI) Geography Expertise

Disclaimer: This is purely for entertainment purpose and is not meant to be offensive to anyone. Every word here is true and has really happened

In a moment of nostalgia when I was reliving my travels from the old sales days spent in the Punjabi heartland, I stumbled upon a note I had written few years ago capturing some truly epic questions and conversations that had happened. It had shocked and even offended me back then when it happened, but when I look back at it now, I just laugh fondly at those memories, almost indicating how my last five years spent between Punjab and Delhi has conditioned my tolerance. Here is the note I had written four years ago. Once again, it was written purely for entertainment purpose by someone who had too much time on her hands in the long drives back then. Read on…

I can still understand the North Indian (Read PUNJABI) chauvinism regarding Hindi been the National language, but what I fail to understand is how their sense of geography can also be so self-centered & twisted. These are some of the mind boggling questions I have faced very regularly, which I encouraged and entertained to just have more fun.

1)      Is Bengal near Chennai?

My Reply– Oh yes, you just need to swim along the coastline and bang, you’ll reach Bengal for free!! So much cheaper than reaching Canada nah!! HAHAHA (We all laugh along happily)

My thoughts– Thanks to Vicky donor, you at least know Bengal. You know from the movie that Bengalis are supposed to simple (Read NO MAKEUP AT HOME), and you know knowing me that I am simple (Read NO MAKEUP AT HOME) and Bingo, your Brain deduces that Bengal too has to be South India!

2)      Does Chennai (Or it could easily be replaced with Bangalore, Hyderabad or Kerala, as they are all the same anyway)have a mall like the one in Jalandhar?

My Reply– We don’t have malls as of now. But we have Fairs’ and Mandis’ once a week where we all go and watch movies and eat cotton candy and buy the amazing Papa Jeans (Pepe is available only in Jalandhar mall of course) that they sell there.

My Thoughts– Do you know the meaning of Public transport in Jalandar (Or any other city in the North, other than Delhi, which thankfully has been saved by the Metro)? Do you have a single theater that released Zero Dark Thirty or Silver Linings Playbook or Dark Knight Returns, in English of course (Again, Delhi not included).Do you know that entertainment does not necessarily have to be getting fully decked up to go shopping and it could just be spending 3 hours in the beach in track pants (Delhi included for this question). Next time think twice before comparing.

3)     Like Delhi, is there any big city in the South other than Bombay?

My Reply– Yes, haven’t you heard of Calcutta?? 🙂 🙂

My Thoughts– Lets name all the good big metros in India- Delhi, Bombay, Chennai, Bangalore,Hyderabad, Calcutta.. Unless its’ true that you are right (that Chennai, Bangalore, Calcutta and Hyderabad are all the same), I don’t think I need to say more

4)      Can you see the Ganga anywhere near Chennai?

My Reply-…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

My Thoughts Galileo syndrome (Sigh.. May be the rest of the world and I are actually wrong!)

 

Leave a Reply

